You are here
Home > CAF League > Algerian Riyad Mahrez named African player of the year

Algerian Riyad Mahrez named African player of the year

Riyad mahrez

Algeria’s and Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez won the prestigious continental trophy of African player of the year .

In the category Mahrez, 25, beat Gabon skipper Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who scooped the prestigious accolade last year for 2015, into second place, with Senegal and Liverpool star Sadio Mane, taking the third spot.


Below is the complete listing of the awards;

African Player of the Year

1. Riyad Mahrez – Winner (361 votes)
2. Pierre Emerick Aubameyang – Runner-Up (313 votes)
3. Sadio Mane (186 votes)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Embed from Getty Images

The Zambian forward Rainford Kalaba was hopeful in this category but Denis Onyango scooped the trophy. 

Denis Onyango is a Ugandan footballer who plays for South African Premier Soccer League club Mamelodi Sundowns.

1. Denis Onyango – Winner (252 votes)
2. Khama Billiat – Runner-Up (228 votes)
3. Rainford Kalaba (206 votes)


Other Categories:

1. Men’s National Team of the Year – Uganda
2. Women’s National Team of the Year – Nigeria
3. Youth Player of the Year – Alex Iwobi

Embed from Getty Images

4. Promising Talent of the Year – Kelechi Iheanacho

5. Club of the Year – Mamelodi Sundowns

6. Coach of the Year – Pitso Mosimane





7. Women’s Player of the Year – Asisat Oshoala
8. Referee of the Year – Bakary Papa Gasama


African Legends Award:

1. Emilienne Mbango (Former Cameroon Player)
2. Laurent Pokou (Former Cote d’Ivoire Player)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.