You are here
Home > Uncategorized > Zesco Gets The Barclays Trophy

Zesco Gets The Barclays Trophy


Zesco gets the Barclays trophy for the 5th time. It was a Midlands vs Copperbelt affair in the Barclays cup 2016 final held at the prestigious Heroes stadium in Lusaka. The super league leaders faced off each other for the only competitive tournament  in the Zambian football.


Zanaco currently on the summit of the log shaded off to a showdown with the 2015 league champions Zesco United. Among Zesco’s success this season was the toil into the CAF champions league that saw them off to the semi finals when they lost it to Mamelodi Sundowns.

Idriss Mbombo during Barclays 2016
Brilliant Idriss Mbombo pushed Zesco to victory and trophy


Zanaco last met Zesco in the same competition in 2010. The final whistle put Zesco in favor over the Bankers.  Six years later Zanaco was hoping to turn the history but only thwarted with Mbombo’s brilliance.



In superb form striker Idris Ilunga Mbombo was the difference in the match as he scored his 16 goal of the campaign in the 72nd minute. Four shots on target yielded a resultant and Zesco amassed the urge in a tough encounter as Zanaco pushed for waves of attacks.


In the MTN FAZ super league Zesco is contending for the second position looking at Zanaco comfortably seating with 72 points and a game in hand. “This trophy is for management and the fans” said Zesco coach Tenant Chilembo who won coach of the tournament.

Zesco has won severally the Barclays trophy in the years including 2014, 2010, 2008 and 2007.

Other prize winners included Mbombo voted the Man of the Match. Zanaco midfielder Charles Zulu who won the Player of the Tournament award.

As champions, Zesco United were given a winner’s cheque worth K300,000.00 while Zanaco received K150,000.00 as runners-up, the second time they finished in that position having lost to the same opposition in 2010.

Players Participated in the Final

Zanaco XI: Toaster Nsabata, Aaron Katebe, Fackson Kapumbu, Ziyo Tembo, George Chilufya, Boyd Musonda 11 Charles Zulu (Ernest Mbewe 49’), Isaac Chansa, Aubrey Funga, Attram Kwame (Saith Sakala 74’), Rodrick Kabwe.

Unused Substitutes: Fashion Sakala, Peter Jacob Banda, Augustin Mulenga, Richard Kasonde, Racha Kola (GK).


Zesco United XI: Banda Jacob, Silwimba Simon (Dauti Musekwa 15’), Banh Adama Ben, Mtonga Kondwani, Odhiambo Owino David, Chaila Misheck, Chama Chota Clatous, Akumu Agay Anthony, Mbombo Ilunga Idriss, Were Jackson Jesse, Ching’andu John (Mwape Mwelwa 85’)

Unused Substitutes: Nyirenda Brown, Mapili Benard, Oluwafemi Ayo, Musekwa Daut, Kambole Lazarous, Mwaba Maybin.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.